Movies of the month

FotorCreated1

This is a space where I’m going to talk about some movies I saw each month that stood out for me. Some months it may be just one, some it may be a lot, like this one. February was a particularly good month when it came to movies for me.

  • The Revenant – This movie is getting all the buzz for a reason. It’s fantastic, Iñarritu keeps getting better and better. The cinematography is breath taking. The story in itself is quite simple but it keeps you entertained and wondering what is going to happen. Tom Hardys’ performance was outstanding.
  • Sunshine – A great science-fiction that’s underrated or at least not very known, unfortunately. It’s awesome, the cinematography is to die for (I love cinematography, it’s a selling point for me) and the plot is just as good. If you like science fiction you’re gonna love this one.
  • Straight Outta Compton – Before this movie I never had heard of NWA, I knew who Ice Cube and Dr. Dre were, but that’s it. But that didn’t stop me from enjoying the movie. It is an awesome movie, and painfully recent. I recommend this movie to everyone, doesn’t matter if you’re a fan of hip-hop or not. “Damn that shit was dope” it was indeed.
  • Deadpool – I’m not a super hero fan. I don’t like the avengers, x-men is okay, it’s the kind of movie I see it on tv on a sunday afternoon if nothing better is on. Saying that, when the first teasers for this movie came out I knew this was my kind of movie. It’s great, I am now a fan of Deadpool. It’s hilarious, extremely meta, very entertaining and with a great soundtrack. I was a bit scared going to see it at the cinema – movie tickets aren’t cheap – but I am thrilled it was worth it. Go see it if you’re up to a good laugh.

You can follow me on letterboxd to if you want to know what other movies I’ve been watching and my thoughts on it.

Have you seen any of these movies, what do you think of them? What are the best movies you’ve seen this month?

Leave a Reply

